President (2020)
Tim Hart
Barnegat Bay Decoy & Baymen’s Museum

First Vice President (2020)
Mary Swarbrick
Fellowship for Metlar-Bodine

Vice-President, Northern (2020)
Alice Gibson
Victorian Society

Vice-President, Central (2020)
Brian Armstrong
South River Historical and Preservation Society

Vice-President, Southern (2020)
Bruce Tell
Cape May County Cultural & Heritage Commission

Secretary (2020)
Christine Retz
Meadows Foundation

Treasurer (2020)
Pary Tell
Cape May County Cultural & Heritage Commission

Membership Chair
Jennifer M. Coultas
Boonton Historical Society & Museum

Historian (2020)
James Lewis
Morristown and Morris Township Library

Executive Director / Newsletter Editor
Linda J. Barth

D&R Canal Watch

The League of Historical Societies of New Jersey, founded in 1966, is composed of over 220 organizations that represent over 45,000 individual members. While most of the organizations in the League are local historical societies, it also includes statewide societies and related institutions, county agencies, museums, libraries and archival groups, historic preservation agencies, and a variety of other organizations devoted to and interested in New Jersey history.

The members of the League share information and ideas about their activities and their problems, and about the work of other groups engaged in saving New Jersey history, county by county, and town by town. They conduct cooperative activities to advance preservation and knowledge of the history of New Jersey.

The League holds three meetings each year for all of its members, one in each of the regions — Northern, Central, and Southern. These meetings are hosted by member societies of the League.

The League welcomes to its membership all historical societies in the state and all other organizations and institutions that work for the preservation of New Jersey history.



Sign up for our email list